SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Unit targeting spells

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Rules Discussion - Dragon Dice™ locked at 3.0 and eariler
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Indrid Cold
dragonmount



Joined: 07 Jul 2016
Posts: 37
Location: Houston, TX

usa.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 4:46 am GMT    Post subject: Unit targeting spells Reply with quote

If a spell targets a unit but does not explicitly mention a terrain (such as the firebolt spell), can targeted unit be in the reserves? It seems so, but I want to be certain.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9127
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:06 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, look at it the other way around. Unless a place (terrain, Dead Unit Area, etc.) is mentioned in the target, the target of any army or any unit means just that. In other words, it does not matter where the army or unit is located unless the target includes a location.

So Finger of Dead, Firebolt, or similar spells can target units in reserves or units at a terrain.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Diceâ„¢ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Diceâ„¢, 20,000 Daemon Diceâ„¢, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10778
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 8:07 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if it needs to be said, but you can not target units in the DUA or BUA unless the effect explicitly says so.

i.e. you can't Finger of Death a unit in the DUA. it's already dead.
_________________
Multiplayer Champion Gencon11/Battlefest Champion(tied) GenCon10/World Champion GenCon07/National Champion Origins05/Intermediate Champion GenCon02/Novice Champion Origins99
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
Indrid Cold
dragonmount



Joined: 07 Jul 2016
Posts: 37
Location: Houston, TX

usa.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2016 5:43 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys for the response Smile

There were a few spells (such as fearful flames) where a unit is targeted and he must save to avoid being killed, and then if he saves he must also save to avoid fleeing to the reserve area. The mention of fleeing to the reserve area made me wonder if perhaps the reserve area could not be targeted.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Rules Discussion - Dragon Dice™ locked at 3.0 and eariler All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group