SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Elemental Spells vs doubling magic

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Rules Discussion - Dragon Dice™ locked at 3.0 and eariler
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Indrid Cold
dragonmount



Joined: 07 Jul 2016
Posts: 37
Location: Houston, TX

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 8:13 am GMT    Post subject: Elemental Spells vs doubling magic Reply with quote

This might be an obvious question and I've just glazed over the rule, but can a player double his magic results when casting elemental magic?

For example, if coral elves roll 7 magic on a coastland terrain, can they summon both a green and blue dragon, if those dragons happen to be available?
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10612
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 8:44 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can only double results from IDs, so if they had rolled 7 magic faces, no. that is only enough to cast the spell once.

If they had rolled 7 ID faces, then yes they could double that to 14 points of magic and cast the summon dragon spell twice.

In larger health games, we will sometimes roll enough ID's to get 40 magic and summon all the dragons at once.

recall that dragons of a different color at a terrain attack each other and not the army
_________________
Multiplayer Champion Gencon11/Battlefest Champion(tied) GenCon10/World Champion GenCon07/National Champion Origins05/Intermediate Champion GenCon02/Novice Champion Origins99
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9024
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 8:49 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

However, Cliff got the math wrong. You would need a bit more than just 7 IDs to cast two different colors of 7 point spells. You can't just double the 7 points and say that half is green and half is blue. You have to declare the color of the ID first, and then double that color. So with 7 points of ID and following your question above, you can get 6 and 8 points, but not 7 and 7 of each color.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Dice™ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Dice™, 20,000 Daemon Dice™, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10612
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2016 8:55 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

chuckpint wrote:
However, Cliff ... wrong.
very true
_________________
Multiplayer Champion Gencon11/Battlefest Champion(tied) GenCon10/World Champion GenCon07/National Champion Origins05/Intermediate Champion GenCon02/Novice Champion Origins99
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
Indrid Cold
dragonmount



Joined: 07 Jul 2016
Posts: 37
Location: Houston, TX

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 6:56 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about this situation: An army of dwarves and firewalkers on highland terrain roll for magic. The result is firewalker = 2(ID) and dwarf = 3(ID)

Could they both double their points for a total of 10 and resurrect a 3-point dwarf? Both units have red magic and I'm assuming this would be all that is needed, but I want to make sure.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10612
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Sep 09, 2016 7:00 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is correct and if I can get the math correct I'll give you an equivalent but more complex example.

for the resurrection spell, you can combine instances cast with different colors.

so the firewalker could double their ID for red, giving 4 red and you use three of it to cast resurrect once.

the dwarf could double their ID for gold, giving 6 gold and you use that to cast resurrect twice.

because the resurrect spell is worded to allow it, you can combine the three instances to bring back a 3pt unit.
_________________
Multiplayer Champion Gencon11/Battlefest Champion(tied) GenCon10/World Champion GenCon07/National Champion Origins05/Intermediate Champion GenCon02/Novice Champion Origins99
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Rules Discussion - Dragon Dice™ locked at 3.0 and eariler All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group