SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Undead vs save or be buried

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> 3.01 and later Rules Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zarose
dragonfoal



Joined: 05 Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Location: Portland

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 12:18 pm GMT    Post subject: Undead vs save or be buried Reply with quote

If undead are effected by a "save or be buried" , such as a red dragon breath, do they get to roll twice? Once for the breath and once for the UD racial resist?
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
shepdog69
common



Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 151
Location: Columbus

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 12:22 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would think so. The undead racial ability doesn't kick in unless the unit is to be buried. The unit isn't buried unless it fails its initial save.

Chuck?
_________________
Duct tape is like the Force: it has a light side and a dark side, and it holds the universe together Razz
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
zarose
dragonfoal



Joined: 05 Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Location: Portland

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 3:58 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

a better example might be Scalders Flaming Arrow (Each result inflicts one damage to the target units which must roll to save. Each killed unit must save or be buried.) So would Undead Roll to save against the damage, then roll any who didn't save to see if they would be buried, and then roll a third time to see if they resist the burial?
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
shepdog69
common



Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 151
Location: Columbus

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:42 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand. What I'm saying is that until a unit is supposed to be buried (for whatever reason), the special ability doesn't come into effect. In the second example, if the undead unit made the first save to avoid being buried, it wouldn't be required to be buried, and so the undead special ability save wouldn't be necessary. If it failed the first save to be buried, it would then be required to be buried, but because of the special undead ability to resist burial, would save again, and only be buried if failing to do so.

That's my take
_________________
Duct tape is like the Force: it has a light side and a dark side, and it holds the universe together Razz
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
zarose
dragonfoal



Joined: 05 Jun 2017
Posts: 5
Location: Portland

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 5:27 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome, that is how I interpret the rule as well. Thanks for the clarification!
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
bluewizard
uncommon
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 633
Location: Chantilly, VA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Jun 07, 2017 8:22 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

shepdog69 you are correct in your understanding.

The Undead ability only kicks in as the unit is heading to the Buried Unit Area. If it is never heading there then Resit Burial does not kick in.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> 3.01 and later Rules Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group