SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Scalders Scorching Touch

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> 3.01 and later Rules Discussion - Locked
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hemlocked
dragonfoal



Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Posts: 13

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:10 pm GMT    Post subject: Scalders Scorching Touch Reply with quote

So this happened the other night:

My buddy was attacking (melee) with his Undead army.

I had 3 points of Wither active on my army.

I rolled for saves with my Scalder army.

Results were 2pt ID, and 2 dice with 2 pts of save each, for total of 6 save points.

I was excited to get to use my scorching touch now, but didn't know how much damage to send back his way. I know that the ID doesn't count towards scorching touch, but that leaves 4 pts for scorching touch. But with Wither in effect, do I subtract 3 pts from the 4 , or do the 3 come off of the top, before the scorching touch is calculated?

1) I have a total of 6 pts of saves, minus 3 for wither (2 pts coming from the ID I rolled, and 1 pt from the true saves,) leaves 3 points to use as scorching touch back to him. Who choses which 3 results get canceled?

2)I have 6 pts of saves, 4 of which I can use for scorching touch. Subtract 3 for wither, leaves 1 point to use as scorching touch.

3)Both are wrong?

As always, thanks for the help.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9124
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2018 3:51 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

#3....

Read closely the Scorching Touch description:
Quote:
Scorching Touch: When making a save roll against a melee attack each non-ID save inflicts 1 point of damage on the attacking army. This damage may only be reduced by magical save results. Scorching Touch does not work during a counter-attack.
Note carefully, it does not say "save results". It says "each non-ID save". It goes on to say that damage may only be reduced by magic save results. You rolled 4 non-ID saves. I'm assuming the Undead army had no magical saves active.

Your results would be: 3 saves vs the damage the Undead army did on your Scalder army. 4 Scorching Touch damage against the Undead army.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Dice™ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Dice™, 20,000 Daemon Dice™, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DialFforFunky
rare



Joined: 11 May 2010
Posts: 1992
Location: Groningen

netherlands.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:06 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh, so you can have all your save results negated and still do damage with scorching touch? Today I learned something new. Neat!

F
_________________
717
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
shepdog69
common
Stockholder



Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 179
Location: Columbus

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 7:43 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was surprised as well. Glad for the clarification
_________________
Duct tape is like the Force: it has a light side and a dark side, and it holds the universe together Razz
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10777
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 8:54 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

We could probably tweak the working of that racial ability to make it more clear.

I know that the terms 'save' and 'save results' were sometimes used interchangeably and in this case were specifically different.
_________________
Multiplayer Champion Gencon11/Battlefest Champion(tied) GenCon10/World Champion GenCon07/National Champion Origins05/Intermediate Champion GenCon02/Novice Champion Origins99
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
shepdog69
common
Stockholder



Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 179
Location: Columbus

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 10:30 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe like this?

"reduction or elimination of save results through spells or abilities does not reduce the results of this ability"
_________________
Duct tape is like the Force: it has a light side and a dark side, and it holds the universe together Razz
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jmonnett
dragonsteed



Joined: 20 Apr 2005
Posts: 92
Location: La Crosse, WI

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:47 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the next revision, we should add “icon” so it says “non-ID save icon”
...
Hoses Fly and Counter, though.
Eff it. Let’s just be explicit “save icon, or Fly or Counter SAI”
Not quite right.
“Save icon, or SAI that generates save results (Counter and Fly)”
There it is.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10777
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2018 9:09 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what would the entire ability read as?
_________________
Multiplayer Champion Gencon11/Battlefest Champion(tied) GenCon10/World Champion GenCon07/National Champion Origins05/Intermediate Champion GenCon02/Novice Champion Origins99
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> 3.01 and later Rules Discussion - Locked All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group