SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Rules Questions From Last Nights Game

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> 3.01 and later Rules Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hemlocked
dragonfoal



Joined: 17 Jan 2018
Posts: 13

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 7:27 am GMT    Post subject: Rules Questions From Last Nights Game Reply with quote

1) When controlling an 8th face, do the double saves apply to any roll (including those made against magic attack and dragon attacks?)

2)Can you use the call element spell to add black to a terrain, hence allowing IDs to double black magic based off the terrain and not the DUA.

3)If two dragons of the same color are at a terrain, do they both attack the marching army? If so are the attacks resolved sequentially or simultaneous.

Thanks as always.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
shepdog69
common



Joined: 12 Jul 2016
Posts: 176
Location: Columbus

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 8:30 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) Yes. Note: From the 3.04a rulebook under "Eighth Face": "When rolling the army, all save results rolled are doubled", so certain saves would not be doubled, such as Scalders' automatic saves against missile. Cliff, the wording would suggest Dragonkin automatic saves would not be doubled. It's that correct?
2) The "Call Element" Spell is not in the latest rule book. This is a correct interpretation of the spell however.
3)Yes. Simultaneously. By custom, though, the dragon owner rolls his own dragon(s), regardless of the target, so it is possible multiple people would be rolling dragons.
_________________
Duct tape is like the Force: it has a light side and a dark side, and it holds the universe together Razz
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9070
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:12 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

1) Since Scalder's automatic saves vs. missile, and Dragonkin auto saves are not rolled results, they are not doubled.

2) Call Element is no longer exists. The rules for minor terrains have made that spell obsolete. A black/ivory minor terrain would add black to a terrain, thus allowing you to double black without using a DUA.

3) All dragons with ivory always attack the army. All dragons that have "matching" colors attack the army. Any dragons with "different" colors attack each other. Matching in this case either means identical colors, for example, two blue/red dragons both have matching colors. Ivory matches all colors, so a blue/red dragon and blue/ivory dragon would match colors and both attack the army. A green/red dragon and a blue/ivory dragon would end up with the green/red dragon attacking the blue/ivory dragon, and the blue/ivory dragon attacking the army.

BTW, it's not "by custom" that the dragon's owner rolls the dragon, it's spelled out specifically in the rules.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Dice™ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Dice™, 20,000 Daemon Dice™, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10720
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:14 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

The answers give were all with respect to the current rules as released in January.

If you are playing from the rulebook that comes packaged with a starter (which I suspect you are), then the dragons are considered colorless.

From that respect, when dragons of the same color are attacking an army they do so at the same instance. the dragons roll together and the army rolls once to save against both and to attack both.
_________________
Multiplayer Champion Gencon11/Battlefest Champion(tied) GenCon10/World Champion GenCon07/National Champion Origins05/Intermediate Champion GenCon02/Novice Champion Origins99
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> 3.01 and later Rules Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group