SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tips, Tricks, and Secrets
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 11, 12, 13  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Game Strategy
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DEEPBLUEB2
monster
Stockholder



Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 7885
Location: Des Plaines, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:17 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Point of this trick was to explain or demonstrate how you can apply two Elevates to a Group Monster. Cool
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10794
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:22 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jim Rayborn wrote:
The Point of this trick was to explain or demonstrate how you can apply two Elevates to a Group Monster. Cool


Since I've been out of it on the rules lately I'll defer to Chuck or Pi on this, but I seem to recall something limiting how many times you could double a result from the same type of source. So I'm not 100% sure you can double twice from the same SAI.

I also remember something about doubling doubling vs tripling... no wait. that was AD&D3rd.

Cliff
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
DEEPBLUEB2
monster
Stockholder



Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 7885
Location: Des Plaines, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:27 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

The only reason I posted this trick was that I asked Chuck during a game if it was legal, and he said it was.

Cliff, the next trick is yours.

Let"s see a cantrip special!!! Very Happy

16th:
Cliff's Multi Cantrips
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9164
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:57 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it was legal. Then the rules got fixed. Here's the rule:
Quote:
If multiple components with identical SAIs are rolled at the same time, they are resolved simultaneously (i.e. their effects are combined). However, SAIs that specifically target a unit or multiple units with an effect that multiplies or divides a result cannot be combined to cause a greater effect upon that same unit or multiple units. SAIs that target health-worth of units in an army, inflict damage on any number of units or produce an effect that does not multiply or divide a unit’s results can be combined to cause a greater effect on the same unit or multiple units or generate greater results.
So as you can see, multiple Elevates must be applied to different units.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Diceâ„¢ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Diceâ„¢, 20,000 Daemon Diceâ„¢, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10794
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:03 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

Let"s see a cantrip special!!! Very Happy

16th:
Cliff's Multi Cantrips


I went back to reread some rules. Looks like all my favorite ones have been fixed in the current rules. Good for the rules, bad for my tricks-n-tips.

This could be done during a normal magic action or a magic action followed by a cantrip in your second march.

FlashFlood and Tidal Wave and Volcanic Eruption can turn a terrain down 3 times in a single action (this is still legal right?) So if you want to abandon a terrain, you don't have to leave it at 7.

The typical TRtM/FlashFlood trick is increased by throwing as many of the above three spells on it as you can. Then the other player can't just turn it back from 7 to 8 on their next turn, giving you more time to get units over there (or repeat it again next turn and move their 8 quickly down to magic range)(or do it once during magic and a 2nd time via cantrip on your 2nd march)

Thats not as impressive as the multiple haunt I wanted to do, but we made that illegal a while ago, I'd just forgotten.


Last edited by cliffwiggs on Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:06 am GMT; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10794
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 9:05 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

chuckpint wrote:
Yes, it was legal. Then the rules got fixed.


Yeah! I said something correct, maybe I'm getting back into the hang of it Embarassed

now I probably just said something dumb on my previous post to negate this small victory.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9164
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:05 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, Cliff, time to read the rules again. Wink All three spells have the phrase: "Multiple castings target multiple terrains." So you can't throw them multiple times on the same terrain in the same magic action. Second, in the SAI rules that I quoted above, you'll see that if you roll multiple Cantrips, they are all resolved together. In other words, it becomes a single "magic" action. I'm sure you'll remember the discussion about preventing someone with multiple Cantrips with black doing a Finger of Death on a common, and then with a second Cantrip doing a Ashes to Ashes on that same common. Third, look at the targets for Tidal Wave and Volcanic Eruption. The first targets terrains with green (water), and the second with red (fire). Currently we do not have a green/red terrain.

So at most, you can turn down the terrain by 2. For Flatlands, you can only turn it down by 1.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Diceâ„¢ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Diceâ„¢, 20,000 Daemon Diceâ„¢, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DEEPBLUEB2
monster
Stockholder



Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 7885
Location: Des Plaines, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:44 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Call Water could add a Green to a Terrain without Green
then in a different phase
Cast A Tidal Wave.
and then a Flash Flood Cool
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10794
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:53 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

chuckpint wrote:
Ok, Cliff, time to read the rules again. Wink

Come visit more to play and I won't forget so easy! I'll blame my Masters, spending so much time on it and not on Dice caused me to forget a few things and get sloppy.

Quote:
All three spells have the phrase: "Multiple castings target multiple terrains." So you can't throw them multiple times on the same terrain in the same magic action.


I didn't forget that. I was saying to cast each spell once. not a single spell multiple times.

Quote:
Second, in the SAI rules that I quoted above, you'll see that if you roll multiple Cantrips, they are all resolved together. In other words, it becomes a single "magic" action. I'm sure you'll remember the discussion about preventing someone with multiple Cantrips with black doing a Finger of Death on a common, and then with a second Cantrip doing a Ashes to Ashes on that same common.


Didn't forget that either. I was taking about multiple cantrips rolled during multiple actions. if i get a Cantrip during a melee roll and finger someone and then get another Cantrip during the counter-melee save roll, I can definately 'Ash' it. Multiple Magic actions during a single turn.

Quote:
Third, look at the targets for Tidal Wave and Volcanic Eruption. The first targets terrains with green (water), and the second with red (fire). Currently we do not have a green/red terrain.


That one I'll give you. I must've been posting from the future when that terrain does exist. :-p

Quote:
So at most, you can turn down the terrain by 2. For Flatlands, you can only turn it down by 1.


In a single magic action, YES. but in a turn it could be more. Spend your first march dumping TRtM or whatever else you want with a single FlashFlood/TidalWave. Then during the 2nd march do a melee and get more Cantrips and do another flood/wave, then during the counter-melee save get more Cantrips (remember we don't have to have mathematically believeable rolls) and do it again... 6 turns during a single turn.

If you throw in a cantrip during a dragon attack you could make it 8, what are the odds of getting that many cantrips during a single turn. Twisted Evil
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10794
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:54 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jim Rayborn wrote:
Call Water could add a Green to a Terrain without Green
then in a different phase
Cast A Tidal Wave.
and then a Flash Flood Cool
I like your thinking!

Call water on a highland and then you can do all three!
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10794
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:58 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

cliffwiggs wrote:

you could make it 8


Naturally I'm refering to the 13 sided terrains that came out in the summer of 2010 during GenConOKC.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
piMaster
rare
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 3235
Location: Rockford, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:17 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

deleted.

Last edited by piMaster on Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:31 pm GMT; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
DEEPBLUEB2
monster
Stockholder



Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 7885
Location: Des Plaines, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:23 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok let's clarify...

First cast Call Water on a Highland with an enemy present.
End of March

Second March....
Cast Tidal Wave on the Highland that has Call Water,
Cast Volcanic Eruption,
Cast Flash Flood

in that order

Will this work?Is that Legal?
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
piMaster
rare
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 3235
Location: Rockford, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:30 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
DEEPBLUEB2
monster
Stockholder



Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 7885
Location: Des Plaines, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:32 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Brad,
You are the Best!!! Cool
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
piMaster
rare
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 3235
Location: Rockford, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:37 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!
I made a small addition to my signature. Hopefully I can add more like that!
_________________
"Everything Brad said is correct." - Chuck Pint
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10794
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:39 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jim Rayborn wrote:

Will this work?Is that Legal?
Quote:
Yes



Watch out you Dwarves! The Scalder Mages are coming. Twisted Evil
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
piMaster
rare
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 3235
Location: Rockford, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:40 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't forget about the Lava Elves!

This is my 500th post! I'm an uncommon now!
_________________
"Everything Brad said is correct." - Chuck Pint
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
DEEPBLUEB2
monster
Stockholder



Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 7885
Location: Des Plaines, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:48 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

17th:
piMaster 500th celebration trick
Could you share a secret or trick?
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
piMaster
rare
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 3235
Location: Rockford, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:54 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jim Rayborn wrote:
17th:
piMaster 500th celebration trick
Could you share a secret or trick?

I already gave you #9. I can't give away all my secrets Exclamation
_________________
"Everything Brad said is correct." - Chuck Pint
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Game Strategy All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 11, 12, 13  Next
Page 2 of 13

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group