SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Open Grave vs. Soiled Ground

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Rules Discussion - Dragon Dice™ locked at 3.0 and eariler
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Raven Bloodeyes
uncommon



Joined: 19 Feb 2007
Posts: 576
Location: Rochester, NY

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 7:39 pm GMT    Post subject: Open Grave vs. Soiled Ground Reply with quote

So, some questions about Open Grave (OG) and Soiled Ground (SG).

Which takes priority?!?


With Goblin mages can you cast both SG on a swamp and OG on one of your armies there, and avoid burying your dead by moving them to reserves??

OR

Conversely, if an opponent has OG on their army, with Goblin mages can you cast SG on that terrain to override OG and force casualties to be buried instead of escaping to their reserves??

What's the guideline?

Thanks!!!
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9128
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 8:10 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

There us no question of "priority". Simply read each spell and see when they are triggered. Open Grave says that any unit taken as a casualty does not go into the DUA, but goes into reserves. Soiled Ground says that any unit that is killed and goes into the DUA, must roll a save or be buried.

So clearly Open Grave protects an army against Soiled Ground. It does not protect a unit against unit targeting effects (like Finger of Death). It also makes sure that dragonkin taken as casualties are also not affected by Soiled Ground.

Now a more interesting question is: How do Honor the Dead and Soiled Ground interact? As long as all your units do not have any black in them, it completely protects them from Soiled Ground. Why is this so, you may ask. It's like the spell Earthen Armor. If you fail your save, then Earthen Armor will give you a save. This is similar, except for three things: First, Honor the Dead, is not "used" up like Earthen Armor. Second, this even works when there is normally not a save (for example, against Flame). Third, this spell works in the DUA. Earthen Armor (like all other spells that are cast on units), goes away as soon as a unit enters the DUA.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Diceâ„¢ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Diceâ„¢, 20,000 Daemon Diceâ„¢, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Raven Bloodeyes
uncommon



Joined: 19 Feb 2007
Posts: 576
Location: Rochester, NY

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2008 8:46 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!

I was reading my personal synopsis of all the spells when I asked this... I didn't catch that subtlety in the wording.... thanks!

Also, thanks for the related answer on Honor the Dead, that makes sense.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Rules Discussion - Dragon Dice™ locked at 3.0 and eariler All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group