SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Trample SAI

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Rules Discussion - Dragon Dice™ locked at 3.0 and eariler
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
marcus1679
dragonmount
Stockholder



Joined: 12 Nov 2016
Posts: 34
Location: West Seneca, NY

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 6:43 pm GMT    Post subject: Trample SAI Reply with quote

My friends and I were reading over the rules a bit (we're trying to get a DD community up and running near us, so trying to know the rules as best as we can) and we thought the Trample SAI was odd.

It reads:

Trample: (any)
During any roll, Trample generates X maneuver results and X melee results.

So with rules as written, that would mean a Trample icon would generate melee results during a missile or magic roll. Based on "combat distances" (determined by the terrain dice facing), what would that be useful for, if not at a melee icon?

We assumed it was a possible error during writing the current rules set. We (my friends and I) don't see how this icon would apply during missile or magic actions.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
dburkley
rare
Director



Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 1198
Location: Hillsborough, NJ

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Feb 28, 2017 7:00 pm GMT    Post subject: Trample SAI Reply with quote

The Trample SAI was revised in 3.0 and was intentionally described as generating both maneuver and melee results.

To your point, at first glance, this doesn't seem to add anything for a Missile action, as you cited as an example.

But there are other circumstances where generating both results does matter.

One example is interacting with the Charge SAI (read that description and you'll see how). Combine that with an 8th Face effect, or if its a Trample SAI on a Dwarven unit at a Highlands...

Another example would be an Amazon unit that rolled a trample SAI at a Flatlands during a Dragon Attack. It would generate both melee and maneuver results, but the maneuver results can count as missile results at the Flatlands. That could matter when determining if a dragon was killed.
_________________
Daniel Burkley
US National Champion (DEXCON 2007, 2009, 2010)
World Champion (GENCON 2008, 2009, 2010, 2013, 2014)
Battlefest Champion: DEXCON 2008, 2011, GENCON 2009, 2010 (co-champion), 2011, 2017)
"No Magicians": GENCON 2008
"Single Race": DEXCON 2008, GENCON 2010, 2011, 2014 (co-champion), 2017
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Rules Discussion - Dragon Dice™ locked at 3.0 and eariler All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group