SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

3.01 (3.02) Resolution of die roll with cantrip.

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> 3.01 and later Rules Discussion - Locked
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BBrauser
dragonsteed



Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 60

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:15 am GMT    Post subject: 3.01 (3.02) Resolution of die roll with cantrip. Reply with quote

Clarification of "If a die leaves the army before its results are used, or a die enters the army after the roll, that die has no effect on that roll."

Is "on that roll" referring to any individual rolled die result or to fully calculated roll in its entirety?

I'm sorry for not remembering the current ruling on cantrip but: if rolling for a non-maneuver, non-melee roll and getting Cantrip, can you use it to bring back a single dead unit and immediately roll that unit to add its roll to the over all "not-yet-resolved" action roll?

Or is this stating that any die entering the army after the initial action roll well not effect the total calculation?
_________________
Bryan Brauser
-Self-proclamed Agnoiologist-
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
bluewizard
uncommon
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 635
Location: Chantilly, VA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:28 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since we have already moved past the point of rolling dice the newly added die does not get rolled. There are a few abilities such as Regeneration that specifically says to roll that die so that is why it does get rolled. The Resurrect dead does not say to roll so we don't.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cliffwiggs
SFR Treasurer
Chief Wheedler
SDA - Rules NitPicker



Joined: 25 Jan 2005
Posts: 10783
Location: Cumming, GA - USA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:29 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's the latter.

This is a reversal from the way this resolved in 2.x.

There were some fiddly exceptions and exceptions to exceptions, etc. that caused some issues when units entered or left an army.

So there is now a very specific point in the turn sequence where dice are rolled (and re-rolled) and thus can contribute their results. Any die that doesn't roll can not contribute.

does that help?

We are currently looking at both the calculate results and die modifications sections to see if they can be made more clear and intuitive.
_________________
Multiplayer Champion Gencon11/Battlefest Champion(tied) GenCon10/World Champion GenCon07/National Champion Origins05/Intermediate Champion GenCon02/Novice Champion Origins99
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
BBrauser
dragonsteed



Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 60

usa.gif
PostPosted: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:40 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

That does help and seems very fair. Some of the exceptions in 2.x would bog down a game with rule lawyer'ing. Thank you.
_________________
Bryan Brauser
-Self-proclamed Agnoiologist-
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> 3.01 and later Rules Discussion - Locked All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group