SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Green minor terrain and tidal wave (also white dragon breath

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> 3.01 and later Rules Discussion - Locked
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dolus
rare



Joined: 07 Sep 2011
Posts: 1251
Location: San Diego, CA

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:17 pm GMT    Post subject: Green minor terrain and tidal wave (also white dragon breath Reply with quote

Does a minor with the green element legally played at a terrain normally without the green element allow me to cast Tidal Wave? I assume it does only if I control the minor, and not if only my opponent has such a minor (since the color isn't added for me).

Similarly, if a terrain has a third color added due to a minor, I assume this would cause a white dragons breath to count as three breath colors for that army. What if the minor was a black/Ivory? Ivory is the "lack of colors", but this is kind of an edge case. There would definitely be 3 breaths for the two terrain colors + black added by the minor, but would one more be added for the Ivory?
_________________
Collection
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9124
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:15 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Adding the minor terrain does not change the major terrain's terrain type in any way.


Quote:
Eight-sided
These dice represent the land that your armies battle to capture. They come in two sizes. The large are called major terrains; or simply terrains. The smaller are called minor terrains. They represent lesser objectives for an army to capture at a particular terrain while trying to secure the terrain itself.


So a few things to note from the above quotes. Adding a minor terrain does not add a color to the terrain, it adds a color the army can use. Also note that when the rules simply say "terrain", it always refers to a major terrain.

For your first question, the answer is no. The target of the spell is the terrain. A minor terrain adds colors for the army, it does not change the major terrain.

This also applies to the second question. The white dragon's breaths are based on the "terrain", therefore the minor terrain does not matter.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Diceâ„¢ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Diceâ„¢, 20,000 Daemon Diceâ„¢, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> 3.01 and later Rules Discussion - Locked All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group