SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Bullseye and multiple SAIs
Goto page Previous  1, 2
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Old Rules Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Deeghter
rare



Joined: 03 Mar 2005
Posts: 2553
Location: Lost

germany.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 6:12 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

chuckpint wrote:
If it was only Bullseye, Cantrip, Bullseye, then I would agree with you Die(ter). But the idea of Cantrip, (something else), Cantrip, is not a good thing. John's example points out how over-powering it could be. Any effect that can kill and bury in one action, has to be looked at quite seriously.


Hmmmmmmm.....I must agree, you're right! Rolling Eyes
_________________
Mr. Green Mr. Green Fan Club President Mr. Green

Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10

www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve!
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Autpost
common
Stockholder



Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 471
Location: Vienna

latvia.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 10:36 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least these questions have caused a discussion and not just a shake of the head.
If someone wants to look it up quickly I've summarized them:


1.) Two units have rolled Bullseye. May I sum up and split the damage? Yes.

2.) Must I resolve all Bullseyes at the same time?
You must resolve all Bullseyes that come from one unit at the same time; You may resolve Bullseyes from several units at the same time if you sum them up (but you need not do so).

3.) May I count Bullseye as a normal missile result (instead of a targeted hit)?
No. (Except during a dragon attack and missile avoidance roll; Here you must count Bullseye as a normal missile result.)

4.) A unit rolls for saves against Bullseye hits and survives. Is this unit rolled again when the rest of the army rolls for saves against the missile attack? Yes.



Quote: "The total damage may individually target one or more units * as the acting player chooses."
* Here I would add "in the defending army"; Otherwise someone may ask, if any unit in the game may be chosen. (Or may I do that?? Shocked Shocked )
Or even worse: If you may target your own rare unit with one point of Bullseye-damage, just to cause that unit to make a roll (hoping that Vanish or Cantrip comes up).

That leads to one last and easy(?) question:
5.) May I target my opponents rare mage with one point of Bullseye-damage, giving him a chance to roll a Cantrip, (which may be used against a third player)? Yes, the unit must still save, although 1 damage wouldn't kill it anyway.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9150
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 11:00 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Autpost wrote:
Quote: "The total damage may individually target one or more units * as the acting player chooses."
* Here I would add "in the defending army"; Otherwise someone may ask, if any unit in the game may be chosen. (Or may I do that?? Shocked Shocked )
Or even worse: If you may target your own rare unit with one point of Bullseye-damage, just to cause that unit to make a roll (hoping that Vanish or Cantrip comes up).
Looks like you're right on that as well. Compare Flaming Arrow to Bullseye.
Autpost wrote:
That leads to one last and easy(?) question:
5.) May I target my opponents rare mage with one point of Bullseye-damage, giving him a chance to roll a Cantrip, (which may be used against a third player)? Yes, the unit must still save, although 1 damage wouldn't kill it anyway.
Yes, I suppose you could. There is nothing in the game that stops two people in a three or more player game from helping each other out in strange ways. However, this is one loophole I'd like to close. If we make a rule like the army damage rule for units, then there would be no way to do something like you suggest. Right now the rules read that if an army is not going to take any damage from an attack (missile or melee), then it cannot be rolled for saves. For units, I'd like to say, that if there is no chance that the unit can be killed, then it cannot be rolled. We'd have to look at that carefully however because of Earthen Armor.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Diceâ„¢ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Diceâ„¢, 20,000 Daemon Diceâ„¢, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Deeghter
rare



Joined: 03 Mar 2005
Posts: 2553
Location: Lost

germany.gif
PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2005 3:20 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wouldn't it be easier to change the wording in the rules concerning save rolls??
Save rolls should only be allowed when fatal damage or negative effect is inflicted on the army/unit regarding to their unmodified basic values !
(One point of damage on a three hp unit doesn't have any effect, therefore no save roll is allowed and "regarding to basic values" leaves out any effects that increased their values in any way, like Earthen Armor!)
_________________
Mr. Green Mr. Green Fan Club President Mr. Green

Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10

www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve!
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Old Rules Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group