 |
SFR, Inc. Forums that relate to SFR products
|
View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Deeghter rare
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 Posts: 2553 Location: Lost

|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 5:19 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Colanius wrote: |
"Terrain dice, summoning pool, spells and other players units, armies or dead unit area (unless specified in the spell’s description) cannot be targeted by a reserve army's magic." |
Ooooooops!!! Sorry!!!! My mistake this time!!!!
It happend while being in the hassle of battle, being bloodthursty!!! Must be the 666-game!!!!
OK, let's see: I take them as gold and cast 2 x Stoneskin on my frontier army to give them + 2 saves. Your Dead-Shot will NOT be buried. Reserve phase stays the same as mentioned above.
Sorry about this stupid mistake!!  _________________
Mr. Green Fan Club President
Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10
www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Colanius dragonmount
Joined: 31 Jul 2005 Posts: 37 Location: Nettetal

|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 5:55 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
It's ok
1. March
Activating my Reserve to roll for Magic:
1 Spy ID, 7 Magic icons from my Rakshasa,Necromancer and Adept.
Taking all as red magic.
______
9 points of red magic
Casting Spark of Life 3 times, reviving the Assassin.
Assassin goes to my reserves.
2. March
no army to activate
Reserve step:
Placing all my reserves at the frontier.
Ending my turn. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deeghter rare
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 Posts: 2553 Location: Lost

|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:49 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
This wasn't really unexpected!
Four Pelters at the frontier army look like this when facing that army marching in!!
1st March: Rolling Horde (except Dragonkin) for magic: --> 5 IDs (1xTroll, 2xLeopard Rider, 2x Wardog Rider) = 12, all gold and doubled by terrain color = TOTAL 24
I cast 2 x "Transmute Rock to Mud" on your frontier army = minus 12 maneuvers.
The remaining 14 points of gold magic are spent on 2 x "Summon gold Dragon". Two gold Wyrms crawl in at the frontier terrain!!
2nd March: Attempting maneuver at the frontier terrain. Will you oppose?? _________________
Mr. Green Fan Club President
Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10
www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Colanius dragonmount
Joined: 31 Jul 2005 Posts: 37 Location: Nettetal

|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:00 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Of course.
I have -1, go ahead  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deeghter rare
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 Posts: 2553 Location: Lost

|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 9:27 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
I forgot to mention that the two Stoneskin spells expired at the beginning of my turn! They're gone!!!
After having maneuvered successfully I turn up the frontier terrain to 6, melee
Reserve phase!
My four Pelters retreat from the frontier as quickly as they can (they got told from Deeghter that you better don't mess around with those dang lizards ) ! Moving them into my Reserves.
I'm done. Your turn, Markus!
Almost forgot to roll the Lizards!!
Wyrm one: --> BELLY!! !! (I'll fry that worm after the game )
Wyrm two: --> Claws! (Ahh, well, I've seen worse Dragons in other games! ) _________________
Mr. Green Fan Club President
Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10
www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Colanius dragonmount
Joined: 31 Jul 2005 Posts: 37 Location: Nettetal

|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:31 pm GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks to the moody Dragons
Ok, let's see....roll....roll....roll...
I got 7 saves from the Bronze Targe,Scorpion Knight, Adept and Conqueror. --> Enough to save against the 6 damage inflicted by the Claw.
Then i got 5 Missile from my Assassin, enough to kill the Dragon who rolls the belly.
Then i got 19 Melee in total with 4hp worth of IDs and 8 Melee from 2 Spys, 4 Melee from 2 Bladesmen and 3 Melee from my Necromancer.
So that's enough to kill the second Dragon.
Both Dragons go back to your DUA.
Promoting 1 Fusilier to a Deadshot.
Deadshot goes from my DUA to my Campaign army and Fusilier goes into my DUA.
1. March:
Turning the Frontier to 7 Melee.
2. March:
No army to activate.
Reserve phase:
No movement.
Ending my turn. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deeghter rare
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 Posts: 2553 Location: Lost

|
Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:10 pm GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Hey, you're a Dragonslayer!
Both Wyrms return to my summoning pool.
Beginning my turn, Transmute Rock to Mud both expire!
1st March:
Rolling my Horde for magic again: --> 2 Leopard Rider IDs and a Wardog Rider ID. 6 points of magic are chosen in gold and doubled by terrain color = 12 gold, and 1 is chosen in black, doubled via your dead Fusilier in your Dua = 2 black.
I cast 1 x Path to move one Troll to my home terrain.
2 x Summon Gold Dragonkin. Two Dragontroops join my army at your home land.
1 x Stoneskin on my Horde = plus 1 save
1 x Ashes to Ashes on your Fusilier to bury it.
2nd March:
Maneuvering unopposed at my home terrain, turning it up to 6, melee.
Reserve phase:
Moving all reserves to my home terrain.
_________________
Mr. Green Fan Club President
Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10
www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Colanius dragonmount
Joined: 31 Jul 2005 Posts: 37 Location: Nettetal

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 5:57 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Fusilier goes into my BUA.
My turn begins.
1. March:
Maneuvering the Frontier to 8 Standing Stones, capturing it.
Rolling my Campaign for Magic:
( I should have tried to take a Missile Action [20] )
But that is also not bad.
Getting a Conqueror ID(r), Necromancer ID(r), Rakshasa ID(m), Spy ID(u) and 2 Magic From an Adept.
Taking all red magic.
12hp IDs, doubled by terrain color = 24 + 2 Magic = 26 red magic points.
Casting 1 Ash Storm on your Horde.
Casting 4 Fearful Flames on your Troll at your Home and 1 Fearful Flames on each of your Pelters at your Home. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deeghter rare
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 Posts: 2553 Location: Lost

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 6:46 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Smart spell combination, Markus!! !! Well done!
But this is interesting now! I only had to use the Ashstorm penalty when rolling the entire army so far.
I know that this spell targets a terrain, thatfore idividual save rolls by units are effected, too. But just to confirm the rules:
rules wrote: | Ash Storm Casting Cost: 2 Spell List: Basic
Target any terrain. Until the beginning of your next turn, subtract one result at the target terrain. Multiple
castings increase the effect or target another terrain. During a combination roll, the owner of the acting
army chooses how to apply the penalty. |
QUESTION:
Since every unit has to save individually but all effected units roll at the same time, does that mean that I have to subtract one result in total or does that mean one result is subtracted from every idividual roll?
The last option would result in all units being killed.
And I'm afraid that's the case, right?
(already noticed my mistake, Ashstorm is cast on his home terrain, not mine! But this question still is interesting!!) _________________
Mr. Green Fan Club President
Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10
www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve!
Last edited by Deeghter on Sat Aug 13, 2005 7:17 am GMT; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Colanius dragonmount
Joined: 31 Jul 2005 Posts: 37 Location: Nettetal

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 6:56 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
To the question, I would say that it only affects the whole army, not singel units. Otherwise it woul be too hard in my opinion.
But I cast the Ashstorm on your Horde, so don't worry  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deeghter rare
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 Posts: 2553 Location: Lost

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 7:15 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Aaargh! I slept again! ! Should read more carefully and more concentrated.
Ashstorm on your home, affecting my horde there OK!
(Well, the question above is still interesting! If a spell targets an army, then it affects army rolls only! If it targets a terrain, then every roll is affected! I think that in the example above all idividual rolls would be affected each!? Maybe Chuck can clear that later?
Let's continue with the game. I'll try to better concentrate in the future )
Resolving your Fearful Flames spells:
--> Troll saves with shields but rolls Smite afterwards. He's being sent to Reserves!
--> 3 Pelters save, too! ! (2 shields and 1 ID), and all three save again (1 shield, 2 IDs)!! Now, that was a lucky one!!!
--> 1 Pelter gets killed 'cause he failed to save.
Please continue! _________________
Mr. Green Fan Club President
Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10
www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Colanius dragonmount
Joined: 31 Jul 2005 Posts: 37 Location: Nettetal

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 7:51 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Hm...lucky magic action, lucky saves.
2. March:
no army to activate
Reserve phase:
no movement
Ending my turn. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deeghter rare
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 Posts: 2553 Location: Lost

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 8:19 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
My Stoneskin expires!
1st March:
Rolling Horde for magic: --> 1 Pelter ID !
-1 for Ashstorm = ZERO!
2nd March:
Maneuvering my home terrain unopposed onto 7th face, melee.
Reserve Phase:
Moving Troll to my home terrain.
Retreating 4 Leopard Riders back into reserves.
(This was luck's revenge for my lucky roll before!! )
Done! _________________
Mr. Green Fan Club President
Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10
www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
piMaster rare Stockholder
Joined: 16 Jan 2005 Posts: 3235 Location: Rockford, IL

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 8:49 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | (Well, the question above is still interesting! If a spell targets an army, then it affects army rolls only! If it targets a terrain, then every roll is affected! I think that in the example above all individual rolls would be affected each!? Maybe Chuck can clear that later? |
Well, I'm no Chuck Pint, but I'll take a stab at it. Page 15 of the advanced rules states: "Spells that target a terrain affect all armies present at that terrain." (emphasis mine) Therefore, unless a spell states otherwise, I'd rule that terrain-targeting spells are not applied when a unit rolls individually. Of course, we'll have to have Chuck give the final ruling.
-Brad _________________ "Everything Brad said is correct." - Chuck Pint |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deeghter rare
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 Posts: 2553 Location: Lost

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 9:00 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
piMaster wrote: |
Well, I'm no Chuck Pint, but I'll take a stab at it. Page 15 of the advanced rules states: "Spells that target a terrain affect all armies present at that terrain." (emphasis mine) Therefore, unless a spell states otherwise, I'd rule that terrain-targeting spells are not applied when a unit rolls individually.
-Brad |
That makes sense, Brad! I missed to look at that one!
Thanx!
I guess Chuck's response to your post will just be : "Second that!"  _________________
Mr. Green Fan Club President
Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10
www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Colanius dragonmount
Joined: 31 Jul 2005 Posts: 37 Location: Nettetal

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 10:49 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, my turn begins.
1. March:
Rolling my Campaign for magic:
That was quiet good.
4 Magic from my Warlock, Conqueror ID(r), Necromancer ID(r), Spy ID(u), Duelist ID(u),Adept ID(c) and Bladesmen ID(c).
I will take the 4 magic points from my Warlock, the Necromancer ID(r) and the Spy ID(u) as gold magic (because they are at my captured standing stones highland). -> 9 points of gold magic
With that i will cast Path on a Spy to move him to your Home terrain and Transmute Rock to Mud on your Home army.
I will take all the other IDs to gain black magic, doubling the Adept ID(c) trough the Pelter in your DUA. That gives me 8 point of black magic, enough to cast 2 Finger of Death on 2 Pelters at your Home army.
Since no saves are allowed against that, both Pelters go into your DUA.
2. March:
Trying to maneuver your Home terrain with my Horde army.
Do you want to oppose?  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
chuckpint White Dragon SFR President Site Admin
Joined: 10 Jan 2005 Posts: 9144 Location: Evanston, IL

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 11:30 am GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Die(ter) wrote: | piMaster wrote: |
Well, I'm no Chuck Pint, but I'll take a stab at it. Page 15 of the advanced rules states: "Spells that target a terrain affect all armies present at that terrain." (emphasis mine) Therefore, unless a spell states otherwise, I'd rule that terrain-targeting spells are not applied when a unit rolls individually.
-Brad |
That makes sense, Brad! I missed to look at that one!
Thanx!
I guess Chuck's response to your post will just be : "Second that!"  |
Not exactly. This is another place where something got left out of the rules. The old history of the rules is such that penalties that effect armies or terrains do not affect units when rolled as units. But the rules presently are well a bit unclear. I'm going to fix that.
You know these on-line games are really helping to find some of the more obscure rules problems. So let's have more on-line games!  _________________ You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Dice™ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Dice™, 20,000 Daemon Dice™, and others (too many to count). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ddicerc rare Public Relations Director Esteemed Author
Joined: 25 Jan 2005 Posts: 3235 Location: East Brunswick, NJ, USA

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 12:13 pm GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Not exactly. This is another place where something got left out of the rules. The old history of the rules is such that penalties that effect armies or terrains do not affect units when rolled as units. But the rules presently are well a bit unclear. I'm going to fix that. |
Does that mean that penalties that affect armies or terrains DO affect units rolled as units, or that they DON'T? Is the old way still in play, or has it been changed so that they do? _________________ Steve "DDice" Braun
The Diceman's Gaming Pages: http://ddicerc.weebly.com
2014-2015 U.S. National Champion
(Just when you thought it couldn't get any worse...) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
chuckpint White Dragon SFR President Site Admin
Joined: 10 Jan 2005 Posts: 9144 Location: Evanston, IL

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 1:23 pm GMT Post subject: |
|
|
Those spells do not affect unit rolls. I'm making the following addition (in bold) to the rules to better clarify this:
Quote: | For any terrain-targeting spell that penalizes (subtracts or divides) a result, all army rolls made at that terrain are subject to the penalty effect from the spell. Unless the spell specifically states otherwise, any result originating from another location (e.g. another terrain or the reserve area) that targets an army or unit at the terrain under the penalty spell’s effect is not modified. |
_________________ You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Dice™ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Dice™, 20,000 Daemon Dice™, and others (too many to count). |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Deeghter rare
Joined: 03 Mar 2005 Posts: 2553 Location: Lost

|
Posted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 3:48 pm GMT Post subject: |
|
|
chuckpint wrote: |
You know these on-line games are really helping to find some of the more obscure rules problems. So let's have more on-line games!  |
WILCO!!!!
Colanius wrote: | .... gold magic (because they are at my captured standing stones highland). |
DING, DING, DING, DING, DING!!! GOOD MORNING, DIETER!!!
You know what, Markus? You're REALLY shocking me here and I'm cought totally by surprise!! I absolutely did not expect you to cast gold magic!!! Totally forgot about your Standing Stones face!!! GEEEZ!!!
I hate to say that but this was a clever, underhand, insidious, surprising.....a just wonderful move!!!
RESPECT!
It makes no sense to oppose!! I will have 5 at maximum, minus 6 from the TRtM spell = ZERO!! If you roll ZERO, too, then we have a tie and ties are counted as advantage for the acting army! So you will definitely win this maneuver and capture your 2nd 8th!!!
CONGRATS, Markus!! This was a very, very nice game and I enjoyed it very much!!!
But I feel the urge for REVENGE some day!!!
Thank you for this great game, Markus! Next time I'll getcha!!!  _________________
Mr. Green Fan Club President
Forum Games Record: W 5 / L 10
www.dragondicer.com
SFR's German electro-punk-bluegrass artist Deeghter @@ My S&JW Memorial Space! Tanx, Steve! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|