SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pathing away SAI that generates normal or special results

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Old Rules Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
piMaster
rare
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 3235
Location: Rockford, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 8:22 pm GMT    Post subject: Pathing away SAI that generates normal or special results Reply with quote

Lets say I have a Treefolk army rolling for saves and I get two SAIs: cantrip and wild growth. I resolve the wild growth first: promote two units and count the other two wild growth results as saves. Next I use the cantrip to Path the Noble Willow to another terrain.

Question: Do the two wild growth results that I want to count as saves still count towards the army's save total?

Similar question: If the army generated counter and cantrip, I used counter to kill four health of my attacker's units, then pathed the counter unit away, does the counter's save results still get added to the army's total?
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9153
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006 8:52 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, there is a sequence for SAIs for a reason. In this case Special and Unique effects happen in the same phase, so the player gets to choose the order. However, after Special and Unique SAIs are done, then normal results are totaled. Note carefully that is after.

So let's take your first example. Wild Growth has two possible effects: Promote (Special) or Save (Normal). You use 2 of the special and promote. Then you use a Cantrip (Unique) to cast a Path. Then you total your normal results from the army. Since the unit that rolled the Wild Growth is no longer in the army, it's results are gone.

Second is really the same. The Special effect of Counter (damage at the opposing army), are resolved first. Then the Cantrip paths the unit away. When the army results are tallied, the unit is no longer there, so it's saves results are gone.

Note that the Ghost's Vanish SAI is doubly special it that it can move away, but leave it's save results behind. But that does not change the rule, Vanish simply has that special effect.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Diceâ„¢ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Diceâ„¢, 20,000 Daemon Diceâ„¢, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
piMaster
rare
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 3235
Location: Rockford, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Sun Mar 26, 2006 11:11 am GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I just wanted to make sure I was doing everything right (and I probably would have gotten Counter wrong if I hadn't asked).

Thanks
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Old Rules Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group