SFR, Inc. Forum Index SFR, Inc.
Forums that relate to SFR products
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Questions about Charm

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Old Rules Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
piMaster
rare
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 3235
Location: Rockford, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:17 pm GMT    Post subject: Questions about Charm Reply with quote

When I resolve Charm, do the charmed units physically leave my opponent's army and join my army? Can I cast spells like Burning Hands on charmed units? Can I take charmed units has casualties for spells/sai like Counter?

I just want to be sure I'm using it right.

Thanks
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
DEEPBLUEB2
monster
Stockholder



Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 7866
Location: Des Plaines, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 2:45 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Resolving Charm:
Only the charmed units results are counted...
you can't take the charmed units as causality.
Very Happy
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9105
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 9:17 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

It never says in the newest rules that the units join the Charming army. Some older rules did. But it is still not completely clear. The idea is that those 4-health are rolled and their results are added to the attacking army's results. Those 4-health are not rolled and are not counted as part of the defending army's results. But after the defending army's save roll is finished, they operate normally again.

Any ideas on changes to the wording?
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Diceâ„¢ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Diceâ„¢, 20,000 Daemon Diceâ„¢, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
piMaster
rare
Stockholder



Joined: 16 Jan 2005
Posts: 3235
Location: Rockford, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:13 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
It never says in the newest rules that the units join the Charming army. Some older rules did.


Yeah, I probably got that idea from an older version. Since Charm doesn't see much use, its hard to find rulings about it.

Perhaps it should say that the units join the Charming army. Otherwise, you kind of run into a problem with army modifiers. Would charmed units be under the effects of their army's modifiers, my army's modifiers, or neither? You could argue for any of these options.

How about this: Charmed units join your army, but they are still considered enemy units (and thus you cannot cast Burning Hands on Charmed units, etc). Otherwise, Charmed units can be used like any other unit in your army, and the Charmed unit's results are modified by your army's modifiers. After your opponent's army has finalized its save roll but before accounting for damage, the Charmed units return to their owner's army.
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address
chuckpint
White Dragon
SFR President
Site Admin



Joined: 10 Jan 2005
Posts: 9105
Location: Evanston, IL

usa.gif
PostPosted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 10:19 pm GMT    Post subject: Reply with quote

We got away from having the units join the army, because it got too crazy. Any effects on the units would not change. Since they add to the army's results, it's pretty clear (I think) that any modifiers on the army would apply to the results regardless of which unit generated them.
_________________
You can never have too many dice.
First Place at the first ever Daemon Diceâ„¢ sealed starter tournament.
Battlefest tied for first GenCon 2012
Single Race Champion GenCon 2008-2009, Sealed Box Champion GenCon 2007,2009,
My collection is 21,500 Dragon Diceâ„¢, 20,000 Daemon Diceâ„¢, and others (too many to count).
Back to top
 View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    SFR, Inc. Forum Index -> Old Rules Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group